50 – The Desolation of Smaug

uploads_cf6138ae-5080-46fb-bb0d-1fa3169f7613-thehobbit2

I’ve been to a really pathetic number of films in the cinema over the last year and I’ve been desperate to get back into going and what better film to return to the big screen with than The Hobbit The Desolation of Smaug. I admit now that I found the first Hobbit film a little bit tiresome as it was 3 hours long but didn’t seem to have much to show for it, all I seem to remember from watching it was countless numbers of super wide shots of the group walking across New Zealand. I knew from just the trailers for the new installment that this was film was actually going to have something happen in it and I was right.

I think this is the best film I’ve seen in the cinema since Skyfall. The story in this one really had me hooked and at the end of the film I didn’t want it to end which is completely different to the first Hobbit film where I was almost falling asleep. The action sequences in this film are awesome and there are plenty of them. The quest that the dwarfs and Bilbo really goes up a notch and shows them in real danger this time round which created much more empathy towards the characters this time round and I found myself getting really invested in what was happening.

1368179888_iLDrH

I can’t talk about the Desolation of Smaug without mentioning Smaug himself. Smaug is possibly the best aspect of this film. The way they have visually shown the dragon is frighteningly powerful but then they’ve paired the visuals with the enigmatic voice of Benedict Cumberbatch who manages to bring such magnitude and underlying wit to the character. My one regret is that I would have liked to have seen even more of Smaug but I’m sure that’s been done on purpose to encourage the audience to watch the next film.

It’s not just the dragons visuals but the whole of the world the characters are in is crafted magnificently and adds such a wide scope to the story. From Laketown to Smaugs lair filled with gold, everything comes to life spectacularly on the screen, even the non computer generated New Zealand landscapes still look stunning.

13.-The-Hobbit-The-Desolation-of-Smaug

A personal favourite was above the forest when Bilbo pokes his head out of the trees, the shot where it sort of pans around Bilbo and shows the crisp autumn reds and oranges with the backdrop of the mountain and skyline looked amazing. It’s so strange as well because usually you can just about tell when something is CGI but I don’t know with that shot was is CGI and what’s not but I don’t really care because it looked brilliant.

As you can probably guess I was really impressed with this film and even with the credits music so just like the film I’ll let Ed Sheeran play us out.

One comment on “50 – The Desolation of Smaug

  1. Character Profile: Smaug | The Leather Library says:

    […] 50 – The Desolation of Smaug […]

Leave a Reply

